Running Home

Mar 02, 2009

Richard Gotthardt

Sometimes a verse just reaches out and grabs you.  Like this one:

“My heart has heard you say, ‘Come and talk with me.’

And my heart responds, ‘Lord, I am coming.'”

Far too often my heart can be a bit, shall we say, hard of hearing.  God may be inviting, beckoning, even gesturing with big, exaggerated motions.  But my attention is diverted, my gaze fixed on something critically important, like the latest news, a show on TV, or most often, myself.  Jesus has set the table, made a wonderful meal for us to enjoy together as friends, but I’m just too busy or too absorbed in other endeavors to even hear his invitation.

And that’s what makes this verse so refreshing.  Sometimes the ears of my heart (funny phrase, isn’t it?) perk up.  I catch His whisper in the wind, the One who says, “Come.”  This word alone is beautiful enough to melt my heart in an instant.  Longings I’ve been shoving aside or blindly chasing after satisfaction for suddenly cry out, “This way- let’s go with Him!”  And my heart calls out to Jesus, “I’m coming!  I’m coming!”

So pause with me a moment today.  Listen for His voice in the wind.  Can you hear His invitation?  “Come, talk with me.”

Richard’s Ramblings

This entry was posted in Richard's Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

