I'd Rather Have Jesus

Oct 05, 2009

Richard Gotthardt

Today, for a variety of reasons, I find Jesus pulling me closer to Him, and it’s such a good thing.  I’m not actually referring to a feeling, but a gut-level, soul-ish awareness of my deep and desperate need for Jesus.  And I’m so very thankful that He is making me aware of my need.  The old line of a hymn comes to mind: “Frail children of dust, and feeble as frail.  In Thee do we trust, nor find Thee to fail.”

But the lyrics that have been cascading in my mind today are from another song- a simple and profound one.  Let me just put a few of the words down here:

“I’d rather have Jesus than silver or gold.

I’d rather be His than have riches untold.

I’d rather have Jesus than anything…

Than to be the king of a vast domain,

or be held in sin’s dread sway (power).”

So, is that true for you today?  Would you rather have Jesus than anything?

Jesus, be our treasure!  May we desire you not only for your good gifts, but may we long for you, the Giver.  Give us, above all, Yourself, and may we be satisfied in You.

Richard’s Ramblings

This entry was posted in Richard's Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

