Thoughts on Lent…

Feb 19, 2010

Richard Gotthardt

“Be careful with mirrors. You never know what they’re going to say.”

-The Queen in Snow White

OK, I made up the quote, but I think she might have said something of the sort. Mirrors are kind of scary to me- I don’t like looking at myself in them. A once-over in the morning, a glance later on, that’s about it. I’m definitely not overly fond of my reflection. Sure, go ahead, analyze me all you like. I know I’ve got issues. Plenty of them.

But whether you enjoy your reflection or not, mirrors are important. Who wants to leave the house with their hair a mess or something gross hanging from their nose? Yuk!

The trickier thing, though, is finding a mirror that accurately reflects our inner self. The self we’d prefer that others not know about- full of petty envy or insecurity, anger, lust, greed. Yuck. Sure, there’s good stuff, too: love, kindness, joy, selflessness- these are all gifts from God. Where those are present, they best reflect the image (pun intended) of our perfect Creator.

See, I had an experience this week in which I became acutely aware of some of the accumulated “junk” in my soul. Ugly stuff- anger, selfishness, pride, greed. I could go on. More than disappointing, it was pretty scary. It can be quite painful when God holds up a mirror to our inner self. I didn’t like what I saw. And I wanted God to take a scoop and just sort of grab all of that stuff and remove it from me. Take it away!

Yes, I know that I am forgiven- completely and totally- by Jesus’ death on the cross. I also realize that wallowing in guilt and shame can be counter-productive. I understand that.

But this is why I am personally drawn to the season of Lent this year. It’s a time that’s ready made for some healthy mirror gazing with Jesus. A time to let Him show me my inner life more clearly and do some house-cleaning. I’d invite you to consider this quote from Ruth Barton:

“Oftentimes, the practice of entering into the Lenten season has been reduced to the question: “What are you giving up for Lent?”. This is a fine question but it can only take us so far. The real question of the Lenten season is how will I clear out the junk and garbage in my life so that I can be restored to God in some fresh way? What are the disciplines that will open up space for God to create a clean heart and new spirit in me”

I’ve been sitting with this the past few days, and I’m feeling ready. Kind of nervous, to be honest. But I know that Jesus is my Friend, and He has good in mind. Hold up the mirror, Jesus, to my heart. And together, let’s make more space…for You.

Richard’s Ramblings

This entry was posted in Richard's Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

