The Crux of the Matter

I’ve been thinking a lot on something I read in a book the other day.  This is what it said:

After the apostle Peter preached on the day of Pentecost, people “were cut to the heart and said…”Brothers, what shall we do?” (Acts 2:37).  The first church responded with immediate action: repentance, baptism, selling possessions, sharing the gospel.

We respond with words like Amen, Convicting sermon, Great book…and then are paralyzed as we try to decipher what God wants of our lives.  I concur with Annie Dillard, who once said, “How we live our days is…how we live our lives.”  We each need to discover for ourselves how to live this day in faithful surrender to God as we “continue to work out our salvation with fear and trembling” (Phil 2:12).

Should you put your house on the market today and downsize?  Maybe.  Should you quit your job?  Maybe.  Or perhaps God wants you to work harder at your job and be His witness there.  Does He want you to move to another city or another country?  Maybe.  Perhaps He wants you to stay put and open your eyes to the needs of your neighbors.  Honestly, it’s hard enough for me to discern how to live my own life!

My suggestion as you think, make decisions, and discern how God would have you live is to ask yourself, “Is this the most loving way to do life?  Am I loving my neighbor and my God by living where I live, by driving where I drive, by talking how I talk?”  I urge you to consider and actually live as though each person you come in contact with is Christ.

This isn’t really a new idea for us here at Chrio.  But it caused me to take a step back and look at the way I’m living out my day to day life.  I challenge you as you reflect on your life, to consider the questions from the final paragraph above: “Is this the most loving way to do life?  Am I loving my neighbor and my God by living where I live, by driving where I drive, by talking how I talk?”

Excerpt from Crazy Love by Francis Chan

This entry was posted in Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

