Giving the gift of presence

Came across this today- really struck me- I’m so easily distracted.  And I was thinking of people I know who really “lock in” when I’m talking to them, how that makes me feel valued and significant.  I’d like to be able to better offer the gift of being fully present- to them and to God.

LET ME DESCRIBE what it means to be truly present. Being present involves letting go of our constant preoccupations, immersing ourselves in the here and now, and giving ourselves wholeheartedly to whatever is at hand. . . . It’s about becoming more aware, alert, awake to the fullness of the immediate moment. If we are with another person, it means engaging with him or her with all of our heart, our mind, our soul, and our strength. Such wholehearted attention requires patience, time, and disciplined effort. And it is one of the greatest gifts that we can give to those around us.

– Trevor Hudson
A Mile in My Shoes

This entry was posted in Richard's Blog, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

