A Contemporary Song Of Lament

Have you ever been confused or frustrated with God?

Who hasn’t ?!?!?

What’s remarkable about God is that he’s not put off by our hurts and hang-ups. In fact he invites us to bear our authentic selves before him in prayer. One way the Bible demonstrates this is through prayers of lament. A lament is an expression of pain and confusion to God that petitions him to intervene. Phrases like ‘How long, O Lord? How long?’ are common in these types of prayers.

An artist in our community wrote a contemporary song of lament that gives voice to pain in fresh ways.

You’ll notice that while the song boldly questions and ponders things like God’s timing and methods it keeps this questioning in the context of God’s love (I know that I am loved, that’s a promise that’s mine).

We pray that as you experience doubt, confusion, frustration and pain that you find ways (like this song) to express those emotions to the God who receives us and transforms us within difficulty.

Why can’t I live, apart from you?
What would I do? Sometimes I wish I could

And if Jesus is really a king why won’t my heart sing?
Why am I as bored as a stone, lonely and all alone?

And it’s breaking my heart, breaking my mind
I can only think now of relief I might find

Shouldn’t I have something more to show
for the times I’ve lived with you as my Lord
and I know I am loved, that’s a promise that’s mine
I’ll take your blessings but your calling I wish to decline

How much would I give to see you as you are?
But you hide yourself from me
Do you even hear me call?
If you are as great as you claim, couldn’t you have stayed when you came?
Life is all formless and cold, nothing has much of a soul

And I’ve made my decision, I know what I’ll do
Can’t go on living and giving to you

Shouldn’t I have something more to show
for the times I’ve lived with you as my Lord
and I know I am loved, that’s a promise that’s mine
I’ll take your blessings but your calling I wish to decline

This entry was posted in Prayer, Theology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

