What’cha Reading?

books“Hey Michael, you need to read this.”

I hear these words often. When someone in my life who knows I’m a pastor reads a book they really enjoy (usually having something to do with Christianity or spirituality) they assume I would want to read it too. And while I genuinely appreciate the default impulse to think of me when reading a good book, I rarely get around to reading a book someone recommends. The reason for this is simply because I don’t have time to read all the books I want to read, let alone the books others want me to read. When I explain this to people, they are usually gracious and understanding (for which I’m grateful!), but these sorts of interactions have happened often enough to make me wonder: Is anyone curious about what I’m reading?

So for the two people out there who answered yes (I love you, mom!), I’ve decided to start a new blog series called “Whatcha Reading?” I have a couple motivations for this series.

The first motivation is for me. Writing these blogs will force me to think more deeply and slowly about what I’ve read. Instead of merely consuming books (so I can move on to the next one), these blogs will cause me to downshift, listen, and prayerfully consider how these authors’ words and ideas should change the way I think and live. And that’s a good thing.

The second motivation is for you. If I can expose you to authors, books, or ideas that cause you to read a book or at least consider how some of these ideas might spur you toward discovering or loving Jesus, his mission in this world, and your place within it more deeply – then I’ll be happy.

I’m not sure how often I’ll post. But when I do, each post will follow the same format:

  1. Title (with photo)
  2. Author (with bio and photo)
  3. Why This Book? (A brief description of how I heard about the book and why I decided to read it)
  4. What’s It About? (A short synopsis of the book)
  5. So What? (Some reflections on what I learned, why I think it matters, or ways I either think or live differently as a result)
  6. Favorite Quotes

Next week I will post my inaugural review. However due to the breadth and depth of the book under review, I’ll be breaking it up into two different posts. So stay tuned!

Oh, and if you read a good book, I still want you to recommend it to me.

Michael Carlson
Pastor / Chrio Church
michael@chriocommunities.com

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

